Close
Photo Zines selbst erstellen

photo zine

My way to the first two photo zines

Zine - what is it actually?

The word ZINE is a short form of the English word magazin and stands for magazine. The word ZINE has existed in English since 1949.

A zine is a self-published magazine with your own text or pictures as content.

It should be easy and cheap to duplicate, with the quality of the print and paper usually taking second place.

The edition is also rather small and limited to a certain number.

The topics are varied and individually selectable.

The first zines appeared in the 1940s as SciFi fan zines.

What is the appeal of a photo zine?

A photo zine is a fairly simple way to tell a story through photography. 

It is not shown a picture or a wild, random compilation of "beautiful" pictures as for example on Instagram, but a small (or larger) series, a report or a photographic essay. Just a story. 

It's the content that matters in the photo zine, not the form. At least in theory. Personally, it's also important to me that the zine looks good, the print quality and the tactile feeling when turning pages are right. And that works! 

But it's also fun to flip through photo zines that are printed on newsprint, which also makes the images look a lot faded than they would in a glossy catalog. If it fits the story, a lousy print is a fine thing. 

 

My way to the self-created photo zine

Photo zines have been with me for a while, but rather passively, I just enjoy looking at them and being inspired by the stories.

Last year I started the first two zine projects with 8001 and #NEU01.

Both projects are so extensive, at 48 and 60 pages, that they almost surpass the character of a zine.

I would like to introduce you to the two current zines here and will write again later about how they came about. It's a lot easier than I thought. 

By the way, I had the zines with me Affinity Publishers created, which I can also highly recommend. It costs just 55 EUR (one-off, not as a subscription!) has a modern, not overloaded interface and a range of functions that I probably didn't know about until 20% even after creating 2 zines. 

Creating a zine is pretty easy. There are still stumbling blocks!

In the beginning there is the idea

you have a topic Collect images and text. Story telling is also a buzz word in photography. Or? maybe I'm in a story telling - photo zine bubble too... dunno. In my very personal opinion, pictures should not just be beautiful, but say something and stimulate the viewer's thoughts. A series in a zine should be varied but also self-contained, in terms of content and form. The viewer should feel that the images belong together, but not get bored because there are too many repetitions or similar images.    

layout

I had my zines with me Affinity Publishers created, which I can also highly recommend. It costs just 55 EUR (one-off, not as a subscription!) has a modern, not overloaded interface and a range of functions that I probably didn't know about until 20% even after creating 2 zines. 

Tip:

Less is more. When creating the zine, the number of pages will probably increase anyway, usually you have to come up with a page number that is divisible by 4. Reduce to the max! Reduce yourself to the essentials, the best of what you want to show. Or even better, what best fits the topic of your zine.

Another tip:

Before you start designing your zine, think about how many pages you want it to have, its format, and where you want to print it. You will usually get millimeter-precise specifications for the cover and the content pages from the print service provider. In Affinity, set up the layout pages accordingly. If you only do that at the end, you have to realign a lot again….

Editor, proofreader, curator

Unfortunately, I'm not very good at ottography myself, but even if you're better at it, have your zine proofread and pay attention not only to the spelling but also to the content. Editors and curators usually do that, but for me it's my girlfriend who I annoy with it.

 

 

8001
Photographic essays from Cuba

Photo-Zine 8001 Heidelberg

#NEU01
A photographic exercise at Lichtwert eV

Photo Zine lichtwert eV

Together with Friedhelm Böcker, I designed an exhibition for the Cuba-Hilfe Dortmund in which photographic essays by my friend, the Cuban photographer Antonio Hernández, and I are shown.

There is also a 60-page exhibition catalog with the pictures from the exhibition.

You can find him on the Website of 8001 order. Do that! 

The proceeds go entirely to the humanitarian projects of the Cuba aid.

But you can also watch it online here.

 

 

The second zine project is #NEU01

In January 22 I made a zine together with photo friends from Lichtwert eV. It is called #NEU01 and shows works by 6 photographers from the group #reinterpreted. In this group we take on works by artists that inspire us to reinterpret them.

We hope for a #NEU02. By the way, you can be there too, take a look at the Lichtwert eV website. 

On the homepage of Lichtwert eV there is a contribution:

#reinterpreted, review and outlook

#NEU01 was only printed for the photographers involved, iBut you can browse online here.


My conclusion:

The zines were fun to create and fun to browse through.

 I will make more of this. In the future, I think it will be stapled zines rather than bound hard covers, as has been the case up to now. Hard covers only work from a certain number of pages (at my print shop from 48 pages). 

Magazines with staple binding, on the other hand, only up to a certain number of pages, above that the adhesive binding is used. Both projects were collaborations between several photographers, so it was particularly difficult to keep the number of pages small. 

For my own projects, I would prefer to limit myself to about 20 pages... But I will definitely continue!

 

 

de_DE

Don't miss anything!

No spam! Honest!

Be the first to receive news and offers:

We respect your privacy. Please note our privacy policy.

Nah dran
Photo Zines selbst erstellen

Foto Zine

Mein Weg zu den ersten beiden Photo Zines

Zine - was ist das eigentlich?

Das Wort ZINE ist eine Kurzform des englischen Wortes magazin und steht für Magazin. Im Englischen existiert das Wort ZINE schon seit 1949.

Ein Zine ist eine selbstpublizierte Zeitschrift mit eigenen Texten oder Bildern als Inhalt.

Es soll leicht und günstig vervielfältigbar sein, die Druck- und Papierqualität steht dabei meist hinten an.

Auch die Auflage ist eher klein und auf eine bestimmte Anzahl limitiert.

Die Themen sind vielfältig und individuell wählbar.

Die ersten Zines erschienen in den 1940er Jahren als SciFi Fan-Zines.

Was macht den Reiz eine Photo Zines aus?

Mit einem Photo Zine bekommt man eine recht einfache Möglichkeit, mit Fotografie Geschichten zu erzählen. 

Es wird nicht ein Bild oder eine wilde, zufällige Zusammenstellung “schöner” Bilder gezeigt wie zum Beispiel auf Instagram, sondern eine kleine (oder größere) Serie eine Reportage oder ein fotografisches  Essay. Eine Geschichte eben. 

Der Inhalt ist beim Photo Zine entscheidend, nicht die Form. Zumindest theoretisch. Mir persönlich ist es auch wichtig, dass das Zine gut aussieht, die Druckqualität und das haptische Gefühl beim Blättern stimmt. Und das geht! 

Es macht aber auch Spaß Foto-Zines durchzublättern, die auf Zeitungspapier gedruckt sind und bei dem die Bilder dann auch viel blasser aussehen, als sie das in einem Hochglanzkatalog tun würden. Wenn es zur Geschichte passt, ist ein mieser Druck eine feine Sache. 

 

Mein Weg zum selbst erstellten Photo Zine

Photo Zines begleiten mich schon eine ganze Weile, allerdings eher passiv, ich sehe sie mir einfach gerne an und lasse mich von den Geschichten inspirieren.

Im letzen Jahr hatte ich dann mit 8001 und #NEU01 die ersten beiden Zine Projekte begonnen.

Beide Projekte sind mit 48 bzw 60 Seiten so umfangreich, dass die den Charakter eines Zines fast schon sprengen.

Ich möchte euch hier die beiden aktuellen Zines vorstellen und werde später noch einmal etwas zur Entstehung schreiben, Das ist nämlich viel einfacher als gedacht. 

Die Zines hatte ich übrigens mit Affinity Publisher erstellt, das kann ich auch sehr empfehlen. Es kostet gerade mal 55 EUR (einmalig, nicht als Abo!) hat eine moderne, nicht überladene Oberfläche und einen Funktionsumfang, von dem ich wahrscheinlich selbst nach der Erstellung von 2 Zines erst 20% kenne. 

Es ist ziemlich einfach ein Zine zu erstellen. Stolperfallen gibt es trotzdem!

Am Anfang steht die Idee

Du hast ein Thema? Sammle Bilder und Texte. Story Telling ist auch so ein Buzz Word in der Fotografie. Oder? vielleicht bin ich auch in einer Story Telling – Photo Zine Blase … keine Ahnung. Bilder sollen meiner ganz persönlichen Meinung nach jedenfalls nicht nur einfach schön sein, sondern etwas aussagen und die Gedanken des Betrachters anregen. Eine  Serie in einem Zine soll abwechslungsreich aber auch in sich geschlossen sein, Inhaltlich wie formal. Der Betrachter soll spüren, das die Bilder zusammen gehören, aber nicht gelangweilt werden, weil es zu viele Wiederholungen oder ähnliche Bilder gibt.    

Layout

Meine Zines hatte ich  mit Affinity Publisher erstellt, das kann ich auch sehr empfehlen. Es kostet gerade mal 55 EUR (einmalig, nicht als Abo!) hat eine moderne, nicht überladene Oberfläche und einen Funktionsumfang, von dem ich wahrscheinlich selbst nach der Erstellung von 2 Zines erst 20% kenne. 

Tipp:

Weniger ist mehr. Beim Erstellen des Zines wird sich wahrscheinlich eh die Seitenzahl erhöhen, in der Regel mußt du dabei auf eine durch 4 teilbare Seitenzahl kommen. Reduce to the Max! Reduziere dich auf das Wesentliche, das Beste von dem, was du zeigen magst. Oder noch besser, das was am besten zu dem Thema deines Zines passt.

Noch ein Tipp:

Bevor du mit dem Entwerfen deines Zines anfängst, überlege dir wieviele Seiten es haben soll, Elches Format und wo du es drucken möchtest. Du bekommst vom Druck-Dienstanbieter in der Regel millimetergenaue Vorgaben zum Umschlag und den Inhaltsseiten. Richte im Affinity die Layout-Seiten entsprechend ein. Machst du das erst am Ende, musst du wieder viel neu ausrichten….

Lektor, Korrektor, Kurator

Ich selbst habe es leider nicht so mit der Ottografie, aber selbst wenn du da besser bist, lass dein Zine korrekturlesen und dabei nicht nur auf die Orthografie sondern auch auf den Inhalt achten. Lektoren und Kuratoren machen das normalerweise, bei mir ist es die Freundin, die ich damit nerve.

 

 

8001
Fotografische Essays aus Cuba

Photo-Zine 8001 Heidelberg

#NEU01
Eine fotografische Übung bei Lichtwert e.V.

Photo Zine lichtwert eV

Zusammen mit Friedhelm Böcker habe ich für die Cuba-Hilfe Dortmund eine Ausstellung konzipierte, in der fotografische Essays von meinem Freund, dem kubanischen Fotografen Antonio Hernández, und mir gezeigt werden.

Dazu gibt es auch einen 60-seitigen Ausstellungskatalog mit den Bildern der Ausstellung.

Ihr könnt ihn auf der Webseite von 8001 bestellen. Macht das! 

Der Erlös geht komplett an die humanitären Projekte der Cuba-Hilfe.

Ihr könnt ihn aber auch hier online ansehen.

 

 

Das zweite Zine Projekt ist #NEU01

Gemeinsam mit Fotofreunden von Lichtwert e.V. habe ich im Januar 22 ein Zine gemacht. Es heisst #NEU01 und zeigt Arbeiten von 6 Fotograf:innen aus der Gruppe #neuinterpretiert. In dieser Gruppe nehmen wir uns Werke von Künstlern vor, die uns zu Neuinterpretationen inspirieren.

Wir hoffen auf ein #NEU02. Da kannst du übrigens mit dabei sein, schau mal auf der Seite von Lichtwert e.V. vorbei. 

Auf der Homepage von Lichtwert e.V. gibt dazu einen Beitrag:

#neuinterpretiert, Rückblick und Ausblick

#NEU01 wurde nur für die beteiligten Fotografen gedruckt, ihr könnt hier aber online durchblättern.


Mein Fazit:

Es hat Spaß gemacht, die Zines zu erstellen und es macht Spaß darin zu blättern.

 Ich werde mehr davon machen. In Zukunft glaube ich eher, es werden geheftete Zines und nicht wie bisher gebundene Hard-Covers. Hardcover gehen nur ab einer bestimmten Seitenanzahl (bei meiner Druckerei ab 48 Seiten). 

Hefte mit Klammer-Bindung wiederum nur bis zu einer bestimmten Seitenzahl, darüber wird die Klebebindung verwendet. Beide Projekte waren Gemeinschaftsarbeiten mehrerer Fotografen, da war es besonders schwer, die Seitenanzahl klein zu halten. 

Bei eigenen Projekten würde ich mich lieber beschränken , so auf ca. 20 Seiten … Ich werde aber definitiv weiter machen!

 

 

en_GB

Nix Verpassen!

Kein Spam! Ehrlich!

Erhalte News und Angebote als Erster:

Wir respektieren Deine Privatsphäre.  Bitte beachte unsere Datenschutzerklärung.